The Plans I Have For You…

fearless

As a child, I had a book of Bible stories I loved. My favorite was the story of Jesus calling the children to him. In the accompanying illustration, one small girl stood a bit apart from the rest; drawn to Jesus, but hesitant to approach. She was the one I identified with the most.

Years later, reading to Amy from the same book, she said, “Look Mommy, there I am!” Curious, I asked her to point to herself. She immediately poked a little finger at the child sitting smack in the middle of Jesus’ lap. I was taken aback. Amy’s faith is defined by simple, childlike trust that Jesus loves her – so much that of course her place would be in his arms.

Today I got to witness that faith again as two of the pastors of our church prayed for Amy and for our upcoming trip to the NIH. The moment was deeply moving, not so much because of the words that were said, but because of Amy’s sweet trust that Jesus was there ready for her to come right into his presence. And, like in so many situations, I followed her lead, my hesitancy disappearing in the brightness of her faith.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” ~Jeremiah 29:11

One thought on “The Plans I Have For You…

Leave a Reply

