My Preference…

12191122_455565177979706_513846561034574300_o (1)

THE SETTING

Tuesday evening class at a major university ~ 187 Credential Students ~ Lecture-style seating ~ Stage ~ Bright Lights

THE PURPOSE

TitaniumAmy agreed to speak to the class about what it was like to be part of the Special Education system through high school, and to answer any questions students had about her experiences.

THE QUESTION

“What do you think about the language people use when they talk about disability. Do you think it’s better if people say ‘the student with a disability?’ Or does it bother you when someone says, ‘the disabled student?’ Or…what language do you prefer people, especially teachers, use when they talk about you?”

THE ANSWER

“I mean…I don’t really care if you say I have a disability, because…I do…

…but I prefer you call me Amy.”

Leave a Reply

